With special thanks to:

  • Students, Faculty, and Staff at MIT

  • Thomas F. Peterson

  • Mary Hurley

  • MIT Video Productions

  • Samuel H. Kress Foundation

  • The American Academy in Rome

  • The John Donne Society

  • Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

  • King's College London

  • Lincoln College, University of Oxford

  • Cultures of Knowledge, University of Oxford

  • The American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works

  • The British Academy

  • OUP John Fell Fund, University of Oxford

  • The Michael Zilkha Fund

  • Heather Wolfe

We are particularly grateful to the following individuals and institutions for supporting our work by becoming early adopters of the terminologies and techniques of letterlocking, in their approaches to research, conservation, and teaching:

Dr Nadine Akkerman, University Lecturer, Leiden University

Dr Rebekah Ahrendt, Assistant Professor, Music Dept, Yale Univeristy

Arno Bosse, Digital Project Manager, Cultures of Knowedge, University of Oxford

Dr Shira Brisman, Assistant Professor, Department of Art History, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr Andrea Clark, Curator of Early Modern Historical Manuscripts at the British Library

Dr Stephanie Frampton, Associate Professor of Classical Literature, MIT

Dr Christopher Fletcher, Professorial Fellow, Library Fellow, and Keeper of Special Collections at the Bodleian Library

Professor Deborah Harkness, Professor of History, University of Southern California

Dr Gabriel Heaton, Director, Books and Manuscripts, Sotheby's London

Dr Oliver Hereford, Birmingham Fellow in English Literature of the Long 19th Century, School of English, Drama and American & Canadian Studies, University of Birmingham

Dr Arnold Hunt, Lecturer in Early Modern History, Cambridge University

Dr Howard Hotson, Professor of Early Modern Intellectual History, St Anne’s College, University of Oxford

Andrew Honey, Senior conservator at the Bodleian Libraries, Univeristy of Oxford

Dr E.C.M. Ineke Huysman, researcher, Department of History of Science and Scholarship, Huygens Institute

Dr Kathryn James, Curator, Early Modern & Osborn Collections, Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Yale University Library

Samuli Kaislaniemi, MA, postgraduate student, Research Unit for Variation, Contacts and Change in English, University of Helsinki

Miranda Lewis, Digital Editor, Cultures of Knowledge, Univeristy of Oxford

Dr David van der Linden, NWO Veni Fellow and Lecturer in History, University of Groningen

Chela Metzger, Library Conservation Center, UCLA

Dr Leslie Morris, Curator of Modern Books & Manuscripts, Houghton Library, Harvard University

Dr John Overholt, Curator of the Donald and Mary Hyde Collection of Dr. Samuel Johnson and of Early Modern Books and Manuscripts, Houghton Library, Harvard University

Dr Henk Porck, Conservation scientist and Curator of Paperhistorical Collection at the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, National Library of the Netherlands

Dr Nathan Perl-Rosenthal, Assistant Professor of History, University of Southern California

Dr Kirsten Stirling, Section d’anglais, Batiment Anthropole, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland

Dr William Stoneman, Curator of Early Books & Manuscripts, Houghton Library, Harvard University

Dr Alison Wiggins, Senior Lecturer, English Language and Linguistics, University of Glasgow

Dr Dianne Mitchell, Department of English, University of Pennsylvania, Mellon-Council of European Studies Dissertation Completion Fellow, 2016-2017

Dr Michael Webb, Keeper of Early Modern Manuscripts, Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford

Dr Heather Wolfe, Curator of Manuscripts and Archivist, Folger Shakespeare Library